Starting From Scratch (Where do I start?)

Discussion in 'The Temple of Elemental Evil' started by Idolon, Apr 8, 2009.

Remove all ads!
  1. Idolon

Idolon Member

Edit: Start Here...

!!Don't Install Patch 3!!
    "...A Newbie's Progress Log"

Since most of what's below are details of simple solutions, the following is a lot easier than it looks, as long as you take a linear approach to the installation and take it step by step.

First of all, don't install Atari's official 3rd patch. If you do so, it seems that you may have to clean your registry to prevent in-game glitches further on.

For total newbies (like me)... CO8 5.5.0 BETA is not just a mod but also corrects many game-breaking technical problems that the official patches don't cover. It's more or less a required download for continuos ongoing play and even then, it seems, there are still problems, dealt with most comprehensively here: Common Issues and Solutions

But first, read the installation instructions...

Installation instructions...
    http://www.moddb.com/mods/circle-of-eight-modpack-550-beta

...I'm not sure how comprehensive those instructions are as they don't say anything about a cd-crack, although if the crack is required only for the looting bug it's stated that CO8 5.5.0 BETA already takes care of that.

Also, .NET FRAMEWORK 2.0 isn't compatible with 64bit Vista. However if you're running vista you've probably got a newer version already installed. You can check the version you have installed by going to START > CONTROL PANEL > PROGRAMS > PROGRAMS AND FEATURES, and locating "Microsoft .NET Framework..." in the list. (The version I have is .NET FRAMEWORK 3.5 SP1 which TOEE seems to work under).

CO8 5.5.0 BETA Download...
    http://www.moddb.com/mods/circle-of...ta/downloads/circle-of-eight-modpack-550-beta
    (None of the Fileshack links worked for me at all. The Filefront download worked but didn't support 'resume download' in my download manager.)