Circle of Eight Forum

Go Back   Circle of Eight Forum > Discussion > The Temple of Elemental Evil

Notices

The Temple of Elemental Evil Discuss Troika's Greyhawk game here!




Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old October 24th, 2006   #1
Rickenbacker
Zombie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 113
Question Extraplanar Chest

Not 100% sure what it's good for. I also found a couple of Extraplanar scrolls.
Rickenbacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2006   #2
Old Book
Lizardman
 
Old Book's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 837
Re: Extraplanar Chest

You missed an actual Extraplanar Chest as monster loot. If you want a spoiler, PM.

The chest is the Co8's answer to the Bag of Holding problem. Create or find the Extraplar Chest Miniature and you'll be able to conjure a full sized chest from the radial menu. You can then load it up and send it away again. Call it back when you want to use or sell the stuff, and don't put any items you've created in there.

Very useful.
Old Book is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2006   #3
StrontiumDog
Zombie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 137
Re: Extraplanar Chest

When I used extraplanar chest the first few times, it got to the point where I was unable to summon the chest. I think it was because I must have forgot to unsummon the chest in a particular area. Would it be possible to allow the extraplanar chest to be summoned again even if it was left in another area?
StrontiumDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2006   #4
Allyx
Master Crafter
Super Moderator
 
Allyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: U.K.
Posts: 3,317
Re: Extraplanar Chest

you must remember to send it away after your done with it, as it will remain on the map you last summoned it on. you could use one of the scrolls to summon another minature chest, but it wouldn't contain any of the items you put in the first chest.
__________________
"I don't want it back. You can never get rid of the smell, you know. Besides, that dagger was Flint's!" - Tasslehoff Burrfoot.

Allyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2006   #5
Cerulean the Blue
Blue Meanie
Veteran
 
Cerulean the Blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 1,962
Re: Extraplanar Chest

Would it be possible to set the chest up so you could summon it if you forgot to send it away and just left it sitting somewhere? Yes it would, but it would only contain the items that were in it the last time you summoned it, not anything you put in it after you summoned it.

Am I going to make those changes? No. That would go against the whole idea of the Extraplanar Chest. The chest isn't supposed to teleport to you wherever you are. When you send it away, it goes to another plane to existence (the Ethereal Plane). When you summon it back, it comes back from that plane to wherever you are. If you don't send it away, you can't bring it back. This is not much of a problem unless you leave it on a random encounter map, you just have to remember where you last used it. If you do leave it on a random encounter map, it's gone for good.
__________________
- Cerulean the Blue -

"No. The only thing that lasts forever is apathy. But who cares."
Cerulean the Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 23rd, 2007   #6
grimbergen
Skeleton
 
grimbergen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 22
Re: Extraplanar Chest

Can someone enlighten me as to where to get it? I may have missed it... I have a few scrolls but no mini chest. thanks!
grimbergen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 23rd, 2007   #7
wizgeorge
Prophet of Wizardy
Circle of Eight Supporter
 
wizgeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: A different zone
Posts: 1,715
Talking Re: Extraplanar Chest

Small hint: It's protected by a bunch of undead.
wizgeorge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 23rd, 2007   #8
sirchet
Force for Goodness
Moderator
 
sirchet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Orlando, FL. USA
Posts: 2,932
Re: Extraplanar Chest

Quote:
Originally Posted by wizgeorge
Small hint: It's protected by a bunch of undead.
Early in the game
__________________
Help is good when asked for,
better when needed.

It's dangerous to go it alone, here ... take this.
sirchet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 23rd, 2007   #9
grimbergen
Skeleton
 
grimbergen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 22
Re: Extraplanar Chest

Found it! Thanks!
grimbergen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2007   #10
Daniel
Zombie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 136
Re: Extraplanar Chest

Quote:
Originally Posted by Allyx
you must remember to send it away after your done with it, as it will remain on the map you last summoned it on. you could use one of the scrolls to summon another minature chest, but it wouldn't contain any of the items you put in the first chest.
I know you guys don't like it when someone brings up an old thread but I found nothing relevant with the search button.


My question is simple: it's impossible to have TWO DISTINCT extraplanar chests, right?

I tried using the scroll when I already had the chest, and it did summon a second chest, only that it had the same content as the first. Am I right in guessing that's the way it's intended or was that a bug in my game? (I'm using 5 O 4)

Thanks!
Daniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2007   #11
Allyx
Master Crafter
Super Moderator
 
Allyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: U.K.
Posts: 3,317
Re: Extraplanar Chest

Yes the question IS simple, the answer isn't...

As I haven't tried it myself, I'm not sure whether you can keep a second separate and completely different chest or not (your welcome to try it out of course), I'm not actually sure if summoning a second mini chest will bring back the first big chest, or create another chest, or simply do nothing at all. I didn't actually write the code for the chest, and CtB isn't around much at the moment...

...but from what Blue told me before, casting the extraplanar chest spell will summon the mini chest if you don't have one already, and it will summon the big chest if you do. It may be possible to get a second chest, but you'll have to cast the spell while you don't have the chest you already own in the casters possession (give the mini chest to someone else before casting).
__________________
"I don't want it back. You can never get rid of the smell, you know. Besides, that dagger was Flint's!" - Tasslehoff Burrfoot.

Allyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2007   #12
zuluwarrior94
Goblin
 
zuluwarrior94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 256
Re: Extraplanar Chest

Okay now I have a problem with the Extraplanar Chest.

I summoned it from the mini after I dealt with the drow and the Witch and I think I left it there. When I try to return there through the letter my game CTD's. I cleared the pyc files before I started the game and it still does it.

Is there any way to fix this?
zuluwarrior94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2007   #13
Daniel
Zombie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 136
Re: Extraplanar Chest

Quote:
Originally Posted by Allyx
Yes the question IS simple, the answer isn't...

As I haven't tried it myself, I'm not sure whether you can keep a second separate and completely different chest or not (your welcome to try it out of course), I'm not actually sure if summoning a second mini chest will bring back the first big chest, or create another chest, or simply do nothing at all. I didn't actually write the code for the chest, and CtB isn't around much at the moment...

...but from what Blue told me before, casting the extraplanar chest spell will summon the mini chest if you don't have one already, and it will summon the big chest if you do. It may be possible to get a second chest, but you'll have to cast the spell while you don't have the chest you already own in the casters possession (give the mini chest to someone else before casting).

Thanks mate

Interesting, didn't know the scroll was actually supposed to get you a mini chest. Gotta try that, but I think I got 2 different chars using those items. I did get 2 big chests.


The thing is, those swords and scale armors keep coming and it seems even the Ethereal World is not enough! (maybe we should try and hum a door to the Hive, cutter?)
Daniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2007   #14
Shiningted
I drink ur milkshake
Super Moderator
 
Shiningted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sydney
Posts: 10,329
Re: Extraplanar Chest

Quote:
I summoned it from the mini after I dealt with the drow and the Witch and I think I left it there. When I try to return there through the letter my game CTD's.
A lot of people seem to be having this problem.

Can I just say that while a fix for it will be done soon enough, people are not MEANT to back to the Gnarley Woods map. You go there, you survive or not, then you move on. The map that leads you there should be destroyed on arrival and if that bit is not working properly atm, it will also be part of the fix.

And if you leave anything there... Wave it bye-bye now
Shiningted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2007   #15
rks
Skeleton
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Re: Extraplanar Chest

I did manage to get by the CTD of going to gnarley woods twice - all I had to do was to renumber my save-files (xxx0001.xxx --> xxx0002.xxx etc.) and it worked fine, but no drow and no witch.
rks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2007   #16
Shiningted
I drink ur milkshake
Super Moderator
 
Shiningted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sydney
Posts: 10,329
Re: Extraplanar Chest

Had you, perchance, already killed them?
Shiningted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2010   #17
rossik
Skeleton
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: brazil
Posts: 42
Re: Extraplanar Chest

hey guys.

so , i found the chest, but whne i use it, the blue circle appears (like the one in "Bless") and a lot of smoke appears. i dont know how to use it to store my stuff, it just keep sending me smoke
rossik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2010   #18
mmonagle
Kobold
 
mmonagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 183
Re: Extraplanar Chest

Quote:
Originally Posted by rossik
hey guys.

so , i found the chest, but whne i use it, the blue circle appears (like the one in "Bless") and a lot of smoke appears. i dont know how to use it to store my stuff, it just keep sending me smoke
Did you use it once already? After you summon it, you also need to send it away when you are done placing items in it. Otherwise the chest will remain where you summoned it. Then if you walk off and try to summon it again, you will get a bit of flash but the spell will fail since you didn't put the chest back. If this is the case, you need to retrace your steps and find where you left the chest.
mmonagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2010   #19
Necroticpus
Cthulhu Ftaghn!
 
Necroticpus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Duluth, MN
Posts: 1,379
Re: Extraplanar Chest

Be careful where you use the chest. Depending on where you open it, an enemy could come out of it from the other side! I once used it at Emridy Meadows and Venger came flying out being chased by Tiamat!
__________________
What is not dead which can eternal lie. And with strange aeons even death may die. - Howard Phillips Lovecraft
Necroticpus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2010   #20
mmonagle
Kobold
 
mmonagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 183
Re: Extraplanar Chest

Quote:
Originally Posted by Necroticpus
Be careful where you use the chest. Depending on where you open it, an enemy could come out of it from the other side! I once used it at Emridy Meadows and Venger came flying out being chased by Tiamat!
Good lord, I actually know what he is talking about. Boy are we showing our age!
mmonagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2010   #21
sirchet
Force for Goodness
Moderator
 
sirchet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Orlando, FL. USA
Posts: 2,932
Re: Extraplanar Chest

Tiamat is more than I want to deal with.
__________________
Help is good when asked for,
better when needed.

It's dangerous to go it alone, here ... take this.
sirchet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2010   #22
General Ghoul
Gnoll
 
General Ghoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 928
Re: Extraplanar Chest

Quote:
Originally Posted by sirchet View Post
Tiamat is more than I want to deal with.
I used the Mace of Disruption of her, banished in one hit.
General Ghoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2010   #23
Necroticpus
Cthulhu Ftaghn!
 
Necroticpus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Duluth, MN
Posts: 1,379
Re: Extraplanar Chest

Man, how awesome would it be to use the chest at a certain place and be able to encounter Lolth, just like in the cartoon?! Maybe use in Lareth's room.
__________________
What is not dead which can eternal lie. And with strange aeons even death may die. - Howard Phillips Lovecraft
Necroticpus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2010   #24
cezmail
Gorboth's Rider
 
cezmail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Central Coast, USA
Posts: 1,029
Re: Extraplanar Chest

Quote:
Originally Posted by Necroticpus View Post
Man, how awesome would it be to use the chest at a certain place and be able to encounter Lolth, just like in the cartoon?! Maybe use in Lareth's room.
(Fondly remembers the idiocy of that Cartoon...)

Or be able to use two chests left in two different places for a quick doorway/cheat teleport. Say between Hommelt and the third level of the Temple. Sure would save a lot of trekking back and forth to unload all that loot.
cezmail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2010   #25
rossik
Skeleton
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: brazil
Posts: 42
Re: Extraplanar Chest

Quote:
Originally Posted by mmonagle View Post
Did you use it once already? After you summon it, you also need to send it away when you are done placing items in it. Otherwise the chest will remain where you summoned it. Then if you walk off and try to summon it again, you will get a bit of flash but the spell will fail since you didn't put the chest back. If this is the case, you need to retrace your steps and find where you left the chest.

no friend, the thing is that when i choose to use the chest, i can olny cast a strange fog in the area. the chest doesnt appear on the grond or something. my character wave and a fog apears.
i dont seem to have the option to use the chest as a chest

edit: also, theres a strange tab (like the status one) called "Spell_None" and a number (83 of 90 now).
it gets weirder...a little fog is following my group (it saty in the middle), and it cause damage to the rats in the moathouse, per round! sinse they respawn all the time, im always in combat there

Last edited by rossik; October 6th, 2010 at 06:09 AM.
rossik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2010   #26
rossik
Skeleton
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: brazil
Posts: 42
Re: Extraplanar Chest

help please? ___
rossik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2010   #27
cezmail
Gorboth's Rider
 
cezmail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Central Coast, USA
Posts: 1,029
Re: Extraplanar Chest

Quote:
Originally Posted by rossik View Post
help please? ___
I can't offer any help with the weird fog, but with the chests I think you somehow used them in an area, forgot to unsummon the chest, and that is why you are getting the sound and spell effects, but no chest. You might either want to try to go back on your other saves and see if the chest shows up in one of them, or just bite the bullet and make a new chest and use that one and say bye to the first one.

Maybe someone else can shed some other light for you.
cezmail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2010   #28
rossik
Skeleton
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: brazil
Posts: 42
Re: Extraplanar Chest

Quote:
Originally Posted by cezmail View Post
I can't offer any help with the weird fog, but with the chests I think you somehow used them in an area, forgot to unsummon the chest, and that is why you are getting the sound and spell effects, but no chest. You might either want to try to go back on your other saves and see if the chest shows up in one of them, or just bite the bullet and make a new chest and use that one and say bye to the first one.

Maybe someone else can shed some other light for you.
im not forgetting it. it just doesn appear as a chest (to put stuff inside).
it shows a blue circle of magic, like Bless, with the numbers as in area selection.

then, a fog appears and the characters get encumbrance (sp). also, they do continuous damage to enemies.

still, i can use this power all the times, but cant use it as a chest
rossik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 7th, 2010   #29
cezmail
Gorboth's Rider
 
cezmail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Central Coast, USA
Posts: 1,029
Re: Extraplanar Chest

Quote:
Originally Posted by rossik View Post
im not forgetting it. it just doesn appear as a chest (to put stuff inside).
it shows a blue circle of magic, like Bless, with the numbers as in area selection.

then, a fog appears and the characters get encumbrance (sp). also, they do continuous damage to enemies.

still, i can use this power all the times, but cant use it as a chest
Wow, sorry Rossik, I got no clue then what is going on or what effect is causing this. If you have a high enough mage about to take a level, you might try to test creating a new chest and see if this same thing happens then. If so then you may have a bugged game and may need to start a new one or just live without the chest.
cezmail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 7th, 2010   #30
rossik
Skeleton
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: brazil
Posts: 42
Re: Extraplanar Chest

Quote:
Originally Posted by cezmail View Post
Wow, sorry Rossik, I got no clue then what is going on or what effect is causing this. If you have a high enough mage about to take a level, you might try to test creating a new chest and see if this same thing happens then. If so then you may have a bugged game and may need to start a new one or just live without the chest.
yeah, thanks friend


i think i will have to live with it till my wizard level up

(no help from the C8 "concil"?)
rossik is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Our Host!

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Circle of Eight Design by Ian Miles "Sol Invictus" Cheong