Use of gloves/helms/boots/cloaks?

Discussion in 'The Temple of Elemental Evil' started by azziane, Sep 7, 2009.

Remove all ads!
  1. azziane

azziane Member

Hi all,

I am brand new to the game and, first of, thank you for the co8 mod. I just re-started a party and am going through the shop map, equiping my guys.

I have no idea whatsoever of the effect of, say, a helmet. I want to equip my paladin with a plate-type helmet, but it does not seem to give any AC bonus.

I am familiar with the basics of the D&D ruleset 2nd ed. I just can't remember what armor, other than the chest piece, is good for.

If anyone could explain this to me I would be grateful.

If you have any advice on what to equip myself with as well, I would appreciate that too.

And if this is not the correct forum to ask such questions, my apologies.

2. Basil the Timid

Basil the Timid Dont Mention the War

The clothing is just decorative, unless it happens to be a Wondrous Item (note the spelling AdG). As per D&D rules (throughout all versions over the past 35 years?), Armor Class (or, more specifically, armor bonus) is derived from the body armor.

As far as which armor to wear largely depends on your characters Dexterity bonus. Most armors have a limitation as to the maximum effect the character's dexterity can be applied to AC.

3. azziane

azziane Member

Thank you.

Another question:

Is there a way to disable Shop map? I did not see it as an option during the co8 5.6 install but I read it was optional.

4. Gaear

Gaear Bastard Maestro Administrator

The shop map (or caravan, as it was in those days) was optional in Co8 5.0.x, but it's not anymore. However, if you don't care to use the shop map, you need only exit it and the regular game will start. You won't have any gear but your clothes though.

5. azziane

azziane Member

I was asking because I thought shopmap was bugged. I figured it was a problem with my install and a re-install fixed it though.

Another question, if I may: