Swapping feats?

Discussion in 'The Temple of Elemental Evil' started by SwingBlade, Aug 25, 2016.

Remove all ads!
  1. SwingBlade

SwingBlade Member

Hey folks!

I'm pretty sure you can't, based on what I had read before, but not sure if there'd been progress. I gave my sorcerer Quicken Spell because I didn't know that doesn't work in 3.5 (I didn't start tinkering with metamagic until Pathfinder). Is there any way I can replace this feat with something functional, or am I stuck with this lesson?

2. Nightcanon

Nightcanon Garrulous Halfling

I'm no expert on modding, but the 'So, Temple plus exists' thread appears to have console commands on page 13 that enable you to add feats to a character (though the advice is generally to avoid playing round with the console as it tends to make the game break down later on). In what way doesn't QS work for sorcerers? I tend to use Wizards, and it works fine for them.

3. SwingBlade

SwingBlade Member

Caveat of QS in 3.5:

This feat can’t be applied to any spell cast spontaneously (including sorcerer spells, bard spells, and cleric or druid spells cast spontaneously), since applying a metamagic feat to a spontaneously cast spell automatically increases the casting time to a full-round action.

I can take it as as sorcerer in ToEE, and apply it to spells, but it is basically just a way to let me cast spells at +4 spell level. Just in case I need a few more magic missiles.

Pathfinder adjusted the feet so that sorcerers could benefit from it, much to the future joy of my white necromancer.

4. Sitra Achara

Sitra Achara Senior Member

Generally possible only in Temple+, though you can manually apply the effect of some feats in some cases.

5. SwingBlade

SwingBlade Member

I would not be upset if a way was devised to make QS work in ToEE, but having looked over the rules it's pretty straight-forward they hated sorcerers. :D Glad Pathfinder 'fixed' that at least.

6. SwingBlade

SwingBlade Member